The Umpire’s decision at a Regatta

The reagtta season is going to start soon. Rowers and Umpires get prepared for the upcoming event. Easy for the Athletes. But how is it for the Umpairs? What about when we face an Umpire’s decision? Never an easy job but you know it’s been a great race when you are unaware of the umpire following behind and keeping an eye on proceedings.

Have a look at this: A few times during this regatta there were potential conflict-inducing incidents and each time an umpire had to make a decision.

Have a look at the videos and let us know what you think.

Was the Umpire’s decision correct?

Social media has provided us with some insight from the crowd.  What do you think?

Or take a look here: 4 time Olympic gold medalist and Henley umpire Sir Matthew Pinsent speaks exclusively to Laura Winter at the 2015 Henley Royal Regatta about the challenges of umpiring. Very interestig to follow. Also interesting how he views the umpaire’s decision.  It gives us a good insight of his work

 

 

Get your weekly newsletter here

* indicates required



Rowperfect UK Limited uses theses informations to get in contact with you. To send you updates, information about items, stories and rowing information. Please click to sign up for the newsletter.

You can change your mind any time and unsubscribe by clicking unsubscribe or contacting us at info@rowperfect.co.uk. We will treat your information with respect. Please find more information about data on our website. When clicking on subscribe you agree that we will that we will process the information according the mentioned terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp’s privacy practices here.


 

One thought on “The Umpire’s decision at a Regatta

  1. Colin Barratt says:

    All three decisions were correct.
    1) NZ W4x catch a crab and break a scull. Since it was outside the first 100m of the race, the crew has to live with any mechanical breakages. They caught the crab and therefore the damage was self inflicted, there were no external forces or collision so there is no recourse to stop the race and order a re-row. Heart breaking for the crew, but that’s the rules of racing.
    2) GB M2- move towards an opponent’s lane and their bow side blade is in that lane. The crew in that lane, NZ, were well clear, so as long as no contact was made between the GB blade and that crew, no action needs to be taken. If they had been in front and washing the crew in that lane, then the umpire needed to warn them, but this was not the case. If they had caught NZ and touched them, then the umpire would have disqualified GB. If the umpire had warned them in that position and they had gone on to win, it could be construed that the umpire had assisted them by steering them over the course!
    3) GB LM2x broke a seat within the first 100m, stopped and the race was re-started. My understanding was that a wheel came loose on the spindle and the seat was jamming on the slide. Zac Purchase had to prove that there was damage to the seat to the FISA umpire responsible. In this case he was an international umpire and not a British one, so there should have been no compassion on his behalf. He was satisfied that there was mechanical damage and that it happened within the first 100m, so he ordered a re-start which included GB. To the man on twitter, if this had been a domestic regatta in GB, there would not have been a re-start since there is no 100m rule in the British Rules of Racing!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.