Erfolgreiches Indoor Rowing – Caroline Buckle

Die Teilnahme an Rehabilitationsprogrammen im Sport könnte ein wesentlicher Schritt sein, um erfolgreich und bekannt zu werden. Hier ist ein wunderbares Beispiel für adaptives Rudern: Caroline Buckle.

Ich habe einen Artikel von Paul Goodwin gelesen. Er beschreibt, wie Caroline, eine 40-jährige ehemalige Army-Veteranin, einen neuen Weltrekord im Indoor-Rudern aufstellte. Im Jahr 2014 schied Caroline aus medizinischen Gründen aus dem Militär aus, nachdem sie an PTSD und anderen Krankheiten erkrankte. Sechs Jahre zuvor hatte sie im Einsatz ihre Achillessehne gerissen, so dass sie ihre Zehen am linken Fuß nicht mehr bewegen konnte, Nervenschäden erlitt und von der Kniescheibe abwärts nur noch ein minimales Gefühl hatte.

Caroline Buckle Interview, Credit bbc.com

Sie gab nicht auf. Sie nahm erfolgreich an einem sportlichen Reha-Programm und nahm an den Invictus Games und den Warrior Games in verschiedenen Disziplinen teil. Im Jahr 2019 trat sie dem Doncaster Rowing Club bei. Zusammen mit einer Gruppe von Rudererinnen und Ruderern nahm sie am „Go Row Indoor Program“ teil, das vom Indoor-Ruderkoordinator des Doncaster Rowing Club und dem Kapitän der Männer, Rick Rolt, ausgerichtet wurde.

Das Ergebnis: Sie gewann Gold über 500 m bei der virtuellen Regatta von British Rowing in einer Weltrekordzeit von 02:02.4 Minuten. in der Kategorie 40-49 PR2 Para Rowing der Frauen. Außerdem gewann sie Silber über 2000 m. Rolt und die Clubmitglieder sind sehr stolz auf Carolines Leistungen.

Caroline plant ihre sportliche Zukunft: „Ich weiß wirklich nicht, was ich von dem Rekord halten soll“, sagte Caroline. „Definitiv schockiert, aber erfreut. Ich bin so stolz, Teil des Doncaster Rowing Club zu sein, und freue mich auch für den Club. Das Training wird sich jetzt auf die Britischen Hallenmeisterschaften im Rudern im Laufe dieses Jahres konzentrieren“, sagte Caroline.

Vielleicht werden wir Caroline eines Tages Rennen in einem Para-Boot rudern sehen!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

RowPerfect Shop subscribe to newsletter

Successful Indoor Rowing – Caroline Buckle

Participating in recovery programs in sports could be an essential step to become successful and well known. Here … read more

Share this Post

Participating in recovery programs in sports could be an essential step to become successful and well known. Here is a wonderful example for adaptive rowing:Caroline Buckle.

I read this article written by Paul Goodwin. He describes how Caroline, a 40 year old former Army Veteran was setting a new world record in Indoor Rowing. In 2014 Caroline left the service for medical reasons after suffering from PTSD and other illness. Six years previously she snapped her Achilles tendon while on tour, leaving her with no use of her toes on her left foot, nerve damage and minimum feeling from her kneecap down.

Caroline Buckle Interview, Credit bbc.com

She did not give up. She successfully joined a sports recovery programme and participated at the Invictus Games and Warrior Games in various dsciplines. In 2019 she joined Doncaster Rowing Club. Together with a group of rowers she participated in the “Go Row Indoor Program”, hosted by the Doncaster Rowing Club’s indoor rowing coordinater and men’s captain Rick Rolt.

The result: She won a 500 m gold at British Rowing’s virtual regatta in a world record time of 02:02.4 in the 40-49 PR2 women’s Para Rowing category. She also won silver at the 2000m. Rolt and the club members are very proud of Caroline’s achievements.

Caroline is planning her future in sports. ““I really don’t know how to feel about the record,” said Caroline. “Shocked definitely, but delighted. I’m so proud to be part of Doncaster Rowing Club and so pleased for them as well. Training now will focus on the British Rowing Indoor Championships later this year.”

Maybe one day we will see Caroline racing in a Para Boat.

About FRITZ Volker
Tom Wall ist passionierter Masters Ruderer und hat seit einiger Zeit seine Liebe für Wanderfahrten entdeckt Tom is a passionate masters rowers and the owner of the Rowperfect Faster Masters Brand View all posts from FRITZ Volker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This form stores your name, E-Mail and content so that we can evaluate the comments. More information: visit our Privacy Policy page.

Blog Related Posts

Rowperfect UK tour visits Walbrook, Sudbury & Weybridge

Dates now confirmed: Walbrook and Royal Canoe Club 14th August Weybridge Rowing Club 24th July Sudbury Rowing Club… read more

Gravesend Rowing Club – RP3 Seminar date

First booking confirmed for the Rowperfect “How to Coach Using Rowperfect Seminar”: 14th July 2012 Gravesend Rowing Club,… read more

How well does your club treat beginners?

An issue that is beginning to receive widespread recognition throughout the global rowing community is the acknowledgement that… read more

RowPerfect Shop subscribe to newsletter
X