Join RowingChat with Masters Rowing Specialist, Marlene Royle

Join RowingChat with Masters Rowing Specialist, Marlene Royle

Attention Masters Rowers:

Next time on RowingChat, we have a special guest just for YOU!

Masters Rowing Specialist, Marlene Royle

rowingchat guest Marlene Royle

RowingChat Guest: Marlene Royle

If you are looking for tips and advice about improving your technique and becoming a more competitive Masters rower, coaching and advice doesn’t get any better than Marlene Royle!

Marlene’s focus on RowingChat will be around master training and technique issues, as well as her approaches to teaching good technique in both sweep and sculling.

Get your Tickets for Rowing Chat

When and where to Join RowingChat with Marlene Royle:

UK (BST) – January 19th, at 9pm
USA/Canada (PST) – January 19th, at 1pm
USA/Canada (EST) – January 19th, at 4pm
New Zealand (NZST) – January 20th, at 10am
Australia (AEST) – January 20th, at 8am

Marlene believes most technical flaws can be corrected with an understanding of the dynamics of the boat, correct orientation within the boat, and by “thinking in the direction of the boat”. This is evident in the way she runs her “training camp” style Roylerow coaching sessions.

A Masters Specialist

Marlene Royle was among the first coaches dedicated to masters rowing. Marlene’s coaching career began in 1982 with the Boston University Summer Recreational Rowing Program, a community sweep program on the Charles River. From 1986 to 2005, Marlene coached at the Craftsbury Sculling Center in Vermont and was the associate director for three years. From 2005 to 2009, Marlene was the head coach at the Florida Rowing Center in Wellington, Florida. In 2013 Marlene was the runner up for the USRowing Choice Awards Masters Coach of the Year.

In 1999, Marlene founded Roylerow Performance Training Programs to individually train rowers designing workouts and communicating via email. Roylerow.com was the first online coaching service for rowing. Shortly thereafter, her athletes started reaching the podiums of major regattas. Marlene’s coaching has produced numerous world masters champions, masters national champions, Head of the Charles winners, and personal bests. College coaches, pre-elite athletes, as well as, those training for general health, re-entering the sport after injury, or just starting to compete use her programs.

A testament to her expertise, masters boats who had trained under Marlene’s tutelage amassed a plethora of medals, including: 6 Gold, 4 Silver, 2 Bronze at the 2015 51st Head of the Charles and 39 Gold medals from 120 events at the USRowing Masters Nationals 2015.

She has also authored two books: Skillful Rowing and Tip of the Blade: Notes on Rowing – Win a signed copy of Tip of the Blade by joining our newsletter in the monthly prize draw!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *