RowPerfect Shop subscribe to newsletter

RowingChat – with Larry Gluckman

RowingChat guest – Larry Gluckman Our RowingChat discussion with Larry will be primarily focus on the topic of “understanding … read more

Share this Post

RowingChat guest – Larry Gluckman

Our RowingChat discussion with Larry will be primarily focus on the topic of “understanding and organising practice so that it enhances race performance”.

With five decades in the sport of rowing, Larry has touched nearly every part of the sport. Beginning at Northeastern University under coach Ernie Arlett, Larry rowed in collegiate crews, at the club level at Vesper Boat Club, and on several elite teams including the 1976 U.S. Olympic Rowing Team. At the elite level, Larry coached at the Pan American Games, the Olympic Games, and the World Rowing Championships at the senior and U-23 levels. His crews have garnered national and international medals.

Recently, under the direction of Dick Dreissigacker and Judy Geer, Larry started the Small Boat Training Center at the Craftsbury Outdoor Center. SBTC was created to improve single, double, and pair rowing amongst college age rowing athletes. During his tenure at SBTC eight crews represented the United States at the U-23 World Rowing Championships. Many of the alumni of this program have moved on to Craftsbury’s Green Team for senior level rowing athletes.

He has recently coached the women’s U23 eight and quad for the 2015 World Championships in Bulgaria.

For close to 12 years, Larry was the “coach” at Concept2 working in marketing, product development, and human resources. He has become a staple at many of the rowing conferences lecturing on coaching and crew development. He is known for his “free speed” lectures.

Where and when?

Join us for RowingChat with Larry Gluckman on:

UK (BST) – August 7th at 12am
USA/Canada (PDT) – August 6th at 4pm
USA/Canada (EDT) – August 6th at 7pm
NZ (NZST) – August 7th at 11am
Australia (AEST) – August 7th at 9am

About Rebecca Caroe
Rebecca is the host of RowingChat podcast and is a masters athlete and coach. Passionate about helping others enjoy the sport as much as she does. View all posts from Rebecca Caroe

Leave a Reply

Blog Related Posts

RowingChat April – With Jason Dorland

Jason Dorland This month’s RowingChat guest is former Canadian Olympic rower, Jason Dorland. After suffering a humiliating loss… read more

RowingChat with Sara Hendershot Intensity Training Specialist Rowing Coach

RowingChat today was with Sara Hendershot-Lombardi, a pioneer introducing High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) to rowing coaching. She… read more

RowingChat: The Rowing Network episode 2

The Rowing Network is a coach education website set up by Community Rowing Inc in conjunction with Rowing… read more

RowPerfect Shop subscribe to newsletter
X