RowingChat with Gearoid Towey on Athlete Retirement

Listen live on Wednesday 21st March 2018 at 9 pm UK time by clicking the YouTube video link.

Gearoid Towey – Crossing the Line Sport

Three-time Olympic rower and former World Champion, Gearoid Towey has worked in athlete personal development for Western Sydney Wanderers Football Club and the New South Wales Institute of Sport. Since he retired from rowing at the Beijing Olympic Games, he became aware that athlete transition is a serious issue affecting thousands of people and that a lot more can be done to help athletes prepare for the day they must move on.

Gearoid founded Crossing The Line Sport because he felt athletes really need an independent and confidential resource where ex-athletes support each other through their own experiences. Too many amazing people get stuck in no-mans land when they retire from the sport. The website, face-to-face workshops, 1:1s and long-term programs aim to educate current athletes and support retired athletes in all sports, in whatever part of the world we are asked to work in.

As prize Gearoid is offering a webinar on Digital Nutrition for free. 

Thursday, March 29, 2018

7pm AEDT / 4pm AWST / 9am GMT / 10am CET

(Or watch the recording on-demand)

Learn how to embrace social media without losing your mind.

Hear from psychologist and digital nutrition expert Jocelyn Brewer on: 

  • Managing relationships with the media, followers, fans, and sponsors.
  • Remaining authentic, while not giving too much of yourself.
  • Saving enough reserves for your sport.
  • Dealing with social media abuse.
  • Your social media presence after retirement.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.