RowPerfect Shop subscribe to newsletter

Join RowingChat with Angelo Savarino

This month, our RowingChat guest is.. Italian National and Newcastle University Head Coach Angelo Savarino Angelo Savarino[/caption] Angelo’s … read more

Share this Post

This month, our RowingChat guest is..

Italian National and Newcastle University Head Coach Angelo Savarino

Angelo Savarino[/caption]

Angelo’s arrival at NUBC in 2005 followed three successful years based at Italy’s Paolo D’Aloja National RowingCentre at Piediluco, Umbria, where he was Coach and Co-ordinator of the Italian Junior and Senior Women’s national teams, and Assistant Coach for the Italian Federation Rowing College.

With Angelo as their coach, Junior Italian crews picked up five silver medals and one bronze at the World Championships in 2003 and 2004.

Prior to that time, from 1994 to 2002, he was Head Coach at Circolo Canottieri Lazio, where athletes under his tutelage collected two gold, two silver and two bronze World Championship medals, and no fewer than 14 Italian National Championship victories.

Since arriving in Newcastle, Angelo’s coaching has secured NUBC 2 Henley Royal Regatta wins, numerous head of the river pennants and several championship wins at BUCS Regatta. He has also coached many athletes to the u23 Great Britain team, being given boats to coach at the World Championships for the last two years. As Head Coach, he has overall control of the coaching regime here at Newcastle, but on a day-to-day basis he runs the Senior Men’s squad.

Angelo was presented with the British Rowing Special Award in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the sport and the development of young rowing talent in the North East and UK.

Join us for RowingChat with Angelo Savarino on:

UK (BST) – September 2nd at 8pm
USA/Canada (PDT) – September 2nd at 12pm
USA/Canada (EDT) – September 2nd at 3pm
NZ (NZST) – September 3rd at 7am
Australia (AEST) – September 3rd at 5am

Register below..

There’s no delicate way to put this. If you’re a regular Rowperfect reader, you’re just . . . well . . . smarter than most people looking to improve their rowing, sculling, coxing or coaching.

About Rebecca Caroe
Rebecca is the host of RowingChat podcast and is a masters athlete and coach. Passionate about helping others enjoy the sport as much as she does. View all posts from Rebecca Caroe

Leave a Reply

Blog Related Posts

I can’t listen live to RowingChat – do you record them?

Being based in India, it is difficult to listen to these sessions live given the time difference. Could… read more

Learn from Wade Hall-Craggs free in this month’s RowingChat

Wade Hall-Craggs, interviewee on RowingChat Every month we do a podcast called RowingChat which brings in an expert… read more

Top advice for Lightweight rowing by Bill Manning

Expert advice for rowers and coaches of lightweight athletes. Bill Manning Lightweight rowing coach Questions and timestamps How… read more

RowPerfect Shop subscribe to newsletter
X